How to Grow Sweet Potato Slips

This year I decided to find another way to grow sweet potato slips so I could grow sweet potatoes successfully this year! After watching video after video showing the old, soak your potato in water in a jar method (that has failed for the last 2 years), I decided to try a different way. I follow another YouTuber on YouTube called the Rusted Gardner. After watching his video on growing sweet potato slips, I gave it try.

IT WORKED! I took 2 organic sweet potatoes I bought at Whole Foods, bought 2 disposable tins from Dollar Tree, poked holes in one and placed it into the other tin. Filled top tin half full of a organic potting soil that I also bought at Dollar Tree, nestled the sweet potatoes into the soil and watered them in. I put thin out into my little greenhouse. I started them in March 2022, so it we still had over night temps there were cold. So, watering was not as often. But once it warmed up, I watered them when needed. It took about a month to see growth, but once it started, it went crazy. When it was ready, I snipped the large sprouts off at the potato, clipped the bottom leaves off, then placed into a jar of water. Once I see roots, they’ll be ready to be planted out into the garden.

The picture above shows all the ones I snipped off and placed in water and what was left of the smaller sprouts that I did not clip off yet. Onces there ready, I will. I will also do second post/update when I plant them out into the 20 gallon grow bags I will be using. Click the video below to see the full “How to” on my YouTube channel.

Leave a comment